About PhotoAlliance



PhotoAlliance is a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting the understanding, appreciation and creation of contemporary photography.                  


PhotoAlliance events have been the meeting place for the San Francisco Bay Area photo community since 2002. We foster connections through public lectures by   noteworthy photographers, a variety of workshops, yearly portfolio reviews and other timely public programs and symposia.                                                       There are no memberships. We welcome artists and collectors, professionals and amateurs, and photo enthusiasts of all levels of experience.

Board of Directors

The current Board of Directors includes Johnna ArnoldLinda Connor, Robert Dawson, Douglas Stinson and Mitchell Yee (Board President).


Thom Sempere, Executive Director

In spring 2005, Thom Sempere joined PhotoAlliance as Executive Director. Thom brings to this position a wealth of experience as an artist, educator, curator and museum professional. His experience as an arts educator began in 1982 at the University of Washington, where he received his Master of Fine Arts degree. Since 2001 he has taught at the San Francisco Art Institute, the University of California, Berkeley and at Stanford University in the Art and Art History department, as well as a lecturer at Stanford in the Continuing Studies program. His work in curatorial and arts administration began in 1983 in Seattle, as curator of the Joseph and Elaine Monsen Collection of Photography, and later as Director of Education and Exhibitions at Photographic Center Northwest. Subsequently, he worked ten years at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art with that institution’s distinguished collection of photography.


PhotoAlliance offers a wide range of volunteer opportunities from assisting with special events to administrative support. Become an

integral part of the PhotoAlliance team by emailing, calling or writing to us.


Photo Alliance was founded in 2002 by Linda Connor with a founding board of directors that included Jane Baldwin, Debra Bloomfield, Steven Brock, William Carter, Robert Dawson, Hank Feir, Ernie Jung, Diane Krause, David Maisel, Norma Quintana, Laura Sackett, Bill Scharf and Vicki Topaz.


PhotoAlliance is a non-profit, tax exempt 501(c)(3) organization and our EIN Federal Tax ID number is 01-0680539.